Parking Rules and Regulations
The following articles are enacted as the parking regulations of Middle Georgia College. These regulations are enacted under the provisions of the laws of the State of Georgia and the regulations of the University System of Georgia to enact such regulations.
All faculty, staff, and students who operate and/or park a vehicle on campus must register the vehicle with the Campus Police Department. All decals/permits must be current and properly displayed. Students must register within the first five regular class days of each semester. Faculty/staff members must register upon employment. Student assistants and those on the College work study program are not permitted to register their vehicles as employees of the college.
- Vehicles can be registered in the Campus Police Department, located in Alderman Community Hall, 24hours a day seven days a week. Applicants for a vehicle registration should be prepared to provide their name, Student ID number, year, make, model, color and tag number for the vehicle being registered. All information must be accurate and correct.
- Vehicle registration is not complete until the decal is permanently affixed to the vehicle on the driver's side lower corner of the rear window so that it is visible to a person standing behind the automobile.
- The person to whom the decal is issued is responsible for all parking violations by that vehicle.
- Registration fees for students are $10.00 per semester including summer. Registration is included in the student fees which are paid at the beginning of the semester. Students should present their receipt at the time of vehicle registration. Vehicle registration fees are non-refundable.
- No more than one current motor vehicle registration decal can be displayed on a single motor vehicle.
- Motor vehicles can not be registered for a new semester until all outstanding fines are paid. Students will not be permitted to register for classes, have transcripts sent to another school, or receive their diploma until all fines are paid.
- There shall be a rebuttable presumption that any vehicle on campus which is owned by a family member of a student or employee is being operated by the student or employee.
- Motorcycles are not allowed to park at bicycle racks.
- Motorcycles are not allowed to by-pass any closed Faculty/Staff lot gated entrances and are prohibited from riding through the gated restricted areas.
- Motorcycles must park in a parking space the same as a vehicle. Two (2) motorcycles may park in one (1) vehicle parking space in the appropriate zone.
- Faculty/Staff Parking is in effect from 7:00 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. on class days and during final examination periods except in designated/signed restricted areas.
- Overnight or extended parking of campers, vans, buses, etc., utilized as living and sleeping quarters within the college boundaries, is not permitted unless approved by the Chief of Police.
- Vehicles cannot pull through or back into a parking space, with the exception of Food Services. In addition, parking against the flow of traffic on the street, is prohibited.
- If a vehicle becomes inoperable in other than an authorized area, the operator should notify Campus Police of the situation as soon as possible and the approximate length of time before the vehicle is liable for all parking tickets issued before the Police Department is notified. Time limit for inoperable vehicles on campus is 24 hours. After 24 hours, vehicle will be removed from campus at owner's expense.
- Special parking permissions can be granted for short periods of time for loading and unloading by calling the Campus Police.
- Police and/or service vehicles may stop, stand, or park irrespective of the parking regulations while performing necessary official business. Service vehicles may not, however, be left unattended blocking a fire hydrant.
- Parking at or near the baseball field is at your own risk.
Temporary Parking Permits
When an individual must operate an unregistered vehicle on campus e.g. borrowed cars, rental, etc. a 14 day permit (limit 3 per semester) can be obtained at the Campus Police department 24 hours a day 7 days a week. A fee of $5.00 per temporary decal will be charged after 3 (per semester) have been issued. 14-day permits will be placed in the lower left hand corner inside of your back window so as to be visible from the outside of the vehicle.
14-day permits will become void if altered in any way, and the offender is subject to a $100.00 fine.
- The decal issued to one vehicle CANNOT be transferred to another vehicle. If you plan to discontinue operation of a registered vehicle on campus, BRING in the old decal to the Campus Police and a replacement decal will be issued for the "new" vehicle at no charge. There will, however, be a charge for replacement decals if the old decal is not turned in. An additional fee of $10.00 will be charged to register a second vehicle.
- Decal owners are responsible for any and all tickets issued to their vehicle before the old decal is declared void by the Campus Police. In addition, the campus Police must be notified of any license plate (tag) change within three (3) class days.
Designated Parking Areas
- The following curb/surface color scheme, in addition to appropriate signs, shall designate parking on this campus. In the event of a conflict between a sign and a curb color, the sign will always take precedence.
- Yellow - No parking zone - 24 hours.
- Red - No parking anytime. Emergency lanes. Violators are subject to impoundment - 24 hours
- Green - Faculty/staff parking.
- White - Zoned student parking. See student zoned designations.
- Blue - Handicapped zones only - 24 hours, visitors
- Visitors - Faculty, staff and students may not park in visitor zones from 7:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. on class days and during final examination periods.
- Faculty/Staff parking is in effect from 7:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on class days and during final examination periods. This is to include fee payment and registration days.
- Student Zoned parking will be in effect 24 hours a day.
- Student "J" permits only may park in the 24 hour restricted areas Behind Talmadge and Harris Halls marked by orange outlined parking spaces.
- Student "C" permits only may park 7:00 a.m. â€“ 5:30 p.m. restricted areas assigned to nonresident student commuters. Designated by the Parking Lot C signs.
- Students "P" permits only may park in the 24-hour restricted area for Anderson Hall and Gateway Hall. (Across Cook Road). Orange spaces in the lot are for GAMES students only.
- Student "NT" permits only may park in the 24-hour restricted area for Regents Hall.
- Student "H" permits only may park in the 24-hour restricted area for Browning Hall marked by orange outlined parking spaces on Sarah St.
- Student "NT" permits only may park in the baseball field parking lot, orange spaces for Warrior Hall.
- Student "D" permits only may park in the 24 hour restricted areas by Aviation Hall on the Eastman campus.
- Any student moving from one residence hall or other zoned area to a different zoned area and/or changing vehicles must get a replacement decal from the campus Police. There will be NO charge for a replacement decal PROVIDING the original decal is surrendered to the Campus Police. (Only one additional decal per year)
Visitors may park only in designated visitor zones. Visitors should obtain a visitor pass from the Campus Police. Passes are available at no charge. If a visitor is issued a citation, all fines will be waived upon notification of the Campus Police. The back of the citation should be signed and sent to our office.
Note: A visitor is defined as anyone who is not a student or faculty/staff member and is not on campus more than three days in one week.
The following fines have been established for parking violations:
|Unregistered motor vehicle||25.00|
|Improper display of decal||10.00|
|Parking out of zone/region||15.00|
|Improper parking (against traffic flow, rear bumper not adjacent to traffic lane)||10.00|
|Parking in a visitor space||20.00|
|Parking in Faculty/Staff space||25.00|
|Parking along yellow curb/zone||10.00|
|Parking along red curb/zone||15.00|
|Parking in unauthorized space/zone||10.00|
|Parking in Handicap without permit||50.00|
|Parking in loading/unloading zone||10.00|
|Parking on sidewalk/grass||10.00|
Fines may be paid in the Business Office in Georgia Hall or the MGC Police Department located in Alderman Community Hall between the hours of 8:00am-5:00pm, Monday-Thursday and 8:00am-3:00pm on Friday. Tickets may be appealed within three business days of the date on the citation on the mgc.edu website under parking regulations.
Persons receiving a parking citation have the right to an appeal for all violations except parking in a Faculty/Staff parking space, parking in a Handicap parking space and the towing fee for impounding a vehicle. Appeal on-line at: http://www.mgc.edu/police/citation-appeal.cfm within three (3) working days of receipt of the ticket. The Student Traffic Appeals Committee will review the appeal to determine if the appeal is valid. If the appeal is denied the ticket must be paid within three (3) working days to the MGC Police Department or the Business Office in Georgia Hall.